top of page
Sentiero Pontid_1.JPG
A LANDSCAPE
CARVED OUT OF ROCK

One day is not enough

A side valley on the left-hand side of the Lavizzara, descending from Monte Zucchero (2735 m) to Broglio (703 m), sunken and deeply cut into the rock. In the lower part, the stream flows through a gorge; the next section is marked by steep cliffs where the path climbs up, the upper part opens out onto a wide glacial circle flanked by ridges and peaks. 

DSC03735.JPG
A LAKE OF
INTENSE COLOURS

At an altitude of about 1,700 metres, in a wide and deep glacial basin, you will discover a magnificent lake. It has an area of 60,000 square metres and a depth of up to 40 metres. The steep slopes that surround it give it an intense, brooding colour, which changes with the sunlight to shades of deep blue and occasionally emerald hues. It is a place frequented by fishermen, popular for scuba diving and the subject of numerous hydro-biological studies.

A raccogliere la legna.png
Giuseppe Donati_1945.png
A SECULAR
HISTORY

One day is not enough

Though meagre, the valley's pastures have attracted shepherds and herds for many centuries. The alp is mentioned in documents dating back to 1400, but it is certainly much older and was organised into six grazing areas. Six pastures at different altitudes, marked by the presence of a farmstead, where they could stop for the time necessary to feed their animals and make cheese.  A three-month summer migration from the village to an altitude of over 2,000 metres, from where, again in stages, they descended to the valley floor.

It was a small and meagre alpine pasture but could accommodate up to twenty cows, a hundred goats and two or three pigs.

DO YOU HAVE QUESTIONS?
resto Pontid.jpg

Do you have any questions or requests? Would you like more information about accommodation, the Tomeo Valley or hikes?

Contact us by filling out the contact form, and we will get back to you as soon as possible – we promise!

bottom of page

top of page
Sentiero Pontid_1.JPG
EINE IN DEN FELSEN GESCHNITZTE LANDSCHAFT

Ein Tag ist nicht genug

Das Val Val Tomè ist ein tief in den Felsen eingegrabenes Seitental auf der linken Seite des Val Lavizzara und führt vom Monte Zucchero (2.735 m) hinunter nach Broglio (703 m). Im unteren Teil fließt der Bach in einer Schlucht, während der nächste Abschnitt von schwindelerregenden Wänden geprägt ist, an deren Fuß der Weg aufsteigt. Der obere Teil öffnet sich zu einem weiten Gletscherkar gekrönt von Graten und Gipfeln.

DSC03735.JPG
EIN SEE MIT
INTENSIVEN FARBEN

Auf einer Höhe von etwa 1.700 Metern, in einem weiten und tiefen Gletscherbecken, gibt es hier einen herrlichen See zu entdecken. Er hat eine Fläche von 60.000 Quadratmetern und eine Tiefe von bis zu 40 Metern. Die umgebenden steilen Hänge verleihen ihm eine intensive und dunkle Farbe, die sich mit dem Sonnenlicht verändert und tiefblaue bis hin zu smaragdgrüne Schattierungen hervorzaubert. Der See ist beliebt bei Fischern, eine Anlaufstelle für Taucher und Gegenstand zahlreicher hydrobiologischer Studien.

A raccogliere la legna.png
Giuseppe Donati_1945.png
EINE JAHRHUNDERTEALTE GESCHICHTE

Ein Tag ist nicht genug

Seit vielen Jahrhunderten ziehen die kargen Weiden dieses Tals Hirten und Herden an. Die bereits um 1400 urkundlich erwähnte, aber sicherlich viel ältere Alm war in sechs Höfen organisiert. An den sechs Orten in verschiedenen Höhenlagen befand sich jeweils ein Bauernhaus, an dem man lange genug Rast machen konnte, um das Vieh zu füttern und Käse herzustellen. Eine dreimonatige Sommertranshumanz, die vom Dorf aus auf eine Höhe von über 2.000 Metern führte, von wo aus die Hirten mit ihren Herden, wiederum in Etappen, ins Tal hinabstiegen. Es war eine kleine und arme Alm, die aber dennoch bis zu zwanzig Kühe, hundert Ziegen und zwei oder drei Schweine beherbergen konnte.

HABEN SIE FRAGEN?
resto Pontid.jpg

Haben Sie Fragen oder Wünsche? Hätten Sie gerne weitere Informationen über Unterkünfte, das Val Tomè oder mögliche Ausflüge?

Kontaktieren Sie uns, indem Sie das Kontaktformular ausfüllen – wir werden uns schnellstmöglich bei Ihnen melden!

bottom of page